Friends General Conference

Together we nurture the spiritual vitality of Friends

Worship

Worship Opportunities at the 2020 FGC Virtual Gathering

Opening and closing worship for the entire community book-end our week.  There are also opportunities to celebrate, mourn, center, heal, and pray together throughout the Gathering week. We have worship in our workshops and opportunities for worship under the care of: Friends for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Concerns (FLGBTQC) and People of Color. 

All Gathering Welcome and Opening Worship

Sunday, June 28, 8pm eastern/5pm pacific

Join the Gathering community in welcome, chanting, and waiting worship as we prepare to embark on a week of experimentation, spiritual exploration, and fellowship.

Bible Half-Hour with Carl Magruder

Carl Magruder, M.Div., BCC, is a “cradle Quaker” of the waiting worship tradition. He lives in far northern California, where he works as a palliative care chaplain. In seminary, a Systematic Theology lecture on soteriology provoked a Quakerly rebellion and a desire for a dynamic, messy, mystical salvation wisdom.

How does Jesus save? In these Bible Half Hours, we will explore the various ways that Jesus is a Trickster! Born of a virgin? Turning water into wine? Gender bending? Hiding from authorities? Speaking riddles? Breaking rules? Doing justice? Traveling between worlds? Holy Trickster Jesus saves us by pulling the rug out, shocking us into metanoia—the changing of our consciousness. Early Friends knew this Trickster magic, defying the social order, talking with the Sultan, taking a beating and Coyote-style popping up again, riding into Bristol town on a pony, or going back to Boston for the third time in defiance of Puritan law and Death itself. In these troubled times, we need Trickster, the light-bringer. With discussion and serious play, we will get our hands into the text, and risk being changed by it. 

At the 2020 FGC Virtual Gathering Bible Half Hours will be held Monday-Friday 11:30am - 12:00pm eastern. 

Watch the 2020 Bible Half Hour

2020 Bible Half Hour bibligraphy

Worship Sharing

Are you looking for a small group experience within the larger Gathering? Do you wish to meet new Friends and build community?  Worship Sharing Groups will meet during the week on Monday & Thursday mornings (10:15-11am EDT / 7:15-8am PDT) and Tuesday & Thursday evenings (9:30-10:15pm EDT / 6:30-7:15pm PDT.) Indicate your interest when you register; you’ll be assigned to a group.

Leadership Needed: If you are willing to be considered as a worship sharing leader, volunteer when you register for the Gathering.

Meeting for Worship for Remembrance

Thursday July 2, 4-5:30pm eastern/1-2:30pm pacific

Join us in worship as we remember those who have died in the past year. Under the care of the Worship Committee.

Closing Worship

Friday, July 3, 8pm eastern/5pm pacific

Help us close a week of Gathering fellowship as we worship together in small groups.