Friends General Conference’s Ministry on Racism program provides opportunities for Friends of Color to gather and build community together. We provide virtual and hybrid:  

  • Worship/fellowship spaces for Friends of Color 
  • Retreats for interracial couples  
  • Retreats for People of Color with opportunities to include their families  
  • Organizing Friends to attend the annual White Privilege Conference (WPC)  
  • Financial support for Friends of Color to attend FGC affiliated events 

The Ministry on Racism Program also offers assistance and support to FGC affiliated meetings and yearly meetings that want to develop their racial and ethnic awareness, increase their diversity, and strive to address the impact of the institution of racism on our Society. Through multiple channels the Ministry on Racism empowers individual Friends, Quaker meetings and Quaker organizations to confront and heal the wounds of white supremacy, challenge racism, and help Friends co-create communities that are more accessible and equitable. 


News


Events

  • Virtual Worship for White Friends Confronting Racism- Friday

    To view past and recent queries from Virtual Worship for White Friends Confronting Racism click here.

    If you are white/of European descent and would like to join our worship, please complete the form below:

    The Ministry on Racism is hosting a bi-weekly virtual Meeting for Worship for white Friends/Friends of European descent confronting racism…

    • Friday, April 12th, 2024 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

    • Virtual
    View Event - Virtual Worship for White Friends Confronting Racism- Friday
  • Virtual Worship Sharing for Friends of Color

    In addition to offering weekly unprogrammed worship during this time of the global COVID-19 pandemic, FGC’s Ministry on Racism has agreed to hold spaces for worship sharing among Friends of Color. These biweekly Worship Sharing spaces will be held every other Wednesday at 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT / 6 PM MT / 5 PM PT / 2 PM HT for 90 minute sessions. The space is in the care of a rotating team of volunteers.

    To view past and recent queries from Virtual Worship for Friends of Color click here.

    If you identify as a Person of Color and would like to join us for our weekly worship sharing, please complete this form:

    In addition to offering weekly unprogrammed worship during this time of the global COVID-19 pandemic, FGC’s Ministry on Racism has…

    • Wednesday, April 17th, 2024 8:00 PM

    • Virtual
    View Event - Virtual Worship Sharing for Friends of Color
  • Virtual Worship for Friends of Color – Midday Weekly Worship

    In 2018, Friends General Conference began hosting virtual worship for People of Color. FGC established this practice as a result of a request by Friends of Color who participated in a retreat that summer. During that weekend Friends of Color expressed their pain of feeling oppressed in their meeting which caused them to stop attending. These Friends were clear that Quakerism and worship was core to their lives and wanted an opportunity to continue to worship in community. FGC agreed to support these Friends with providing monthly virtual worships on Zoom. These worships are provided as a place for Friends of Color to come together in community and worship in an environment with Friends who experience marginalization in their lives and Quaker meetings because they are a Person of Color.

    During this time of the global COVID-19 pandemic, FGC has been offering these virtual worships on a regular basis.

    There are two weekly virtual meetings for worship:

    Midday weekly worship Wednesdays at 1 PM ET / 12 PM CT / 11 AM MT / 10 AM PT / 7 AM HT.

    If you identify as a person of Color and would like to join us for our worship, please complete this form:

    In 2018, Friends General Conference began hosting virtual worship for People of Color. FGC established this practice as a result of…

    • Wednesday, April 17th, 2024 1:00 PM

    • Virtual
    View Event - Virtual Worship for Friends of Color – Midday Weekly Worship
  • Virtual Worship for Friends of Color – Evening Biweekly Worship

    In 2018, Friends General Conference began hosting virtual worship for People of Color. FGC established this practice as a result of a request by Friends of Color who participated in a retreat that summer. During that weekend Friends of Color expressed their pain of feeling oppressed in their meeting which caused them to stop attending. These Friends were clear that Quakerism and worship was core to their lives and wanted an opportunity to continue to worship in community. FGC agreed to support these Friends with providing virtual worships on Zoom. These worships are provided as a place for Friends of Color to come together in community and worship in an environment with Friends who experience marginalization in their lives and Quaker meetings because they are a Person of Color.

    During this time of the global COVID-19 pandemic, FGC has been offering these virtual worships on a regular basis.

    Evening worship every other Wednesday at 8 PM ET / 7 PM CT / 6 PM MT / 5 PM PT / 2 PM HT.  

    If you identify as a person of Color and would like to join us for our worship, please complete this form:

    In 2018, Friends General Conference began hosting virtual worship for People of Color. FGC established this practice as a result…

    • Wednesday, April 17th, 2024 8:00 PM

    • Virtual
    View Event - Virtual Worship for Friends of Color – Evening Biweekly Worship
  • Virtual Worship for White Friends Confronting Racism- Thursday

    To view past and recent queries from Virtual Worship for White Friends Confronting Racism click here.

    If you are white/of European descent and would like to join our worship, please complete the form below:

    The Ministry on Racism is hosting a bi-weekly virtual Meeting for Worship for white Friends/Friends of European descent confronting racism…

    • Thursday, April 18th, 2024 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM

    • Virtual
    View Event - Virtual Worship for White Friends Confronting Racism- Thursday
Translate »