Friends General Conference

Together we nurture the spiritual vitality of Friends

Year-Round Youth Programs

**NEW** Year-Round Youth Programs from FGC

As the pandemic continues, FGC is offering several year-round virtual programs for youth so we can stay in community. We'd love to connect with you at the events listed below. Please check back on this page for winter and spring events as we schedule them. If you have questions, please contact Marian Dalke, Gathering Youth Coordinator at [email protected] or 215-561-1700 ext 3050.

UPCOMING EVENTS

  • Saturday 12/12/20: The Quake that Rocked the Continent (Youth Summit for Middle and High School Friends)

  • Sunday 12/6/20 and Saturday 12/19/20: Writing Workshops for Friends Journal’s Student Voices Project (Middle & High School)

  • Saturday 1/23/20: Family Place (for children birth – 5th grade)

SAVE THE DATES

These retreats are held quarterly on the first Saturday of the Quarter (excluding FGC's summer Gathering):

  • ---

Junior Gathering Friends, Connect with us at Family Place!

Family Place is a space for children from birth through 5th grade and their parents & guardians.

These 90 minute sessions on zoom include stories, singing, socializing, and hands-on activities. Join us for our second Family Place on Saturday 1/23/21 from 4-5:30pm EDT/ 3-4:30pm CDT/ 2-3:30pm MDT/ 1-2:30pm PDT. We will offer Family Place on alternating months.

Stay tuned for future session in March!

Click here to register! 

----

The Quake that Rocked the Continent: Youth Summit for Middle and High School Friends

We are organizing across FGC’s affiliated Monthly and Yearly Meetings to offer interactive workshops, worship and hang-out times for older youth. Our first Youth Summit will be Saturday, 12/12 with a focus on climate justice, racial justice and mindfulness. FGC will be co-hosting the event with Ohio Valley and Pacific Yearly Meetings. The Summit includes 3 sessions between 1-10pm EDT/ 12–9pm CDT/ 11am-8pm MDT/ 10am-7pm PDT – with long breaks between each session. Each session is optional and youth are not required to participate in all 3. We plan to offer future Youth Summits in February and April.

Click here to register! (Link coming soon)

----

Student Voices Project and Writing Workshops

FGC is partnering with Friends Journal on the Student Voices Project. Friends Journal is accepting written submissions from Middle and High School youth on the theme, “What have you learned about yourself and your community in the past year?” Submissions are due February 15, 2021.

FGC and Friends Journal will be co-hosting two Writing Workshops to support youth in their writing on Sunday, 12/6 from 1-2:30pm EDT/ 12-1:30pm CDT/ 11am-12:30pm MDT/ 10-11:30am PDT and Saturday, 12/19 from 4:30-6pm EDT; 3:30-5pm CDT, 2:30-4pm MDT, 1:30-5pm PDT

Click here to register!

We're requesting that participants come prepared with 2-3 ideas written out for what they'd like to focus their submission on.

----

Other announcements:

FGC is considering creating a Spiritual Leadership program for Middle School, High School, and Adult Young Friends. If you would like to participate as a mentor or mentee, please complete our survey to help direct the creation of this program.

Photo credits: Christian Hayden and Mike Goren