Friends General Conference

Together we nurture the spiritual vitality of Friends

Tips for First Time Attenders at the Gathering

 

Tips for First Time Attenders of the FGC Gathering

Technology

Since most of this year’s Gathering is on Zoom, make sure you have internet access and download the most recent version well before the Gathering starts.

  • Attend one of the Zoom Basics classes for Gathering attenders.
  • Friends attending by phone only will be emailed the Zoom phone numbers to use. You can dial into most events using these phone numbers.

Self-Care and Connection

Please attend one of the Welcome Sessions for First Time Attenders on Sunday, June 28 at 6:30pm eastern/3:30pm pacific or Monday, June 29 at 9:30pm eastern/6:30pm pacific. You can also practice your Zoom skills!

  • Be sure to get plenty of rest. Some experienced attenders encourage afternoon naps. You can’t do everything!
  • For many Friends, workshops provide a comfortable home base with friendships that develop out of sharing a common interest.
  • Take a break from the computer. Stretch, go for a walk, call a friend.

Worship & Grounding

There are numerous opportunities for worship. Worship sessions are open to anyone who wishes to attend. They are not limited to members of the sponsoring group, unless they say so specifically. The worship sponsored by FLGBTQC (Friends for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Concerns) is open to all Gathering attenders.

Resources from the First Time Attenders Welcome Session

Land acknowledgment information can be found at http://native-lands.ca and https://nativegov.org/a-guide-to-indigenous-land-acknowledgment/.

Here are the FGC Worship Sharing Guidelines.

Questions? Problems? Concerns?

If you experience technology difficulties, email the Gathering office at [email protected].

Feeling generally overwhelmed or confused? Email the First Time Attenders Committee at [email protected].